Roasted Roots with Goat Cheese

I recently read from my new cookbook My New Roots, that you should always try to create the holy trinity in cooking: Salt, sugar, and acid. I am going to be using this from this recipe forward. Root Vegetables and goat cheese are my favorite things, mix in some sweetness, saltiness, and an acid and we’ve got ourselves a delicious dinner! For the salt, I used Himalayan salt, for the sugar I used pure maple syrup, for the acid I used a little lemon juice and the goat cheese is also considered as an acid.

1 small butternut squash (nutrition value of butternut squash)

3 beets (benefits of beets)

1 large sweet potato (why eat sweet potatoes?)

1 onion

4 cloves garlic

4 tbsp unrefined coconut oil, I use unrefined because the polyphenols (antioxidant) become damaged during the process of refining the coconut oil. Divide evenly between the two pans or one pan if everything fits.

2 tsp ground cinnamon

2-3 tbsp pure maple syrup drizzled over the top

Himalayan salt

pepper

A little squeeze of lemon

 

Bake in glass pans at 400 degrees for 40-50 minutes.

DSCF1044
Garnish with garlic and herb goat cheese and 1/3 c of pistachios if you choose.

DSCF1043

Leave a Reply

