DIY Sleep Aid Extract

I have had a difficult time writing any blog posts. Being a full-time mom to an infant and toddler can be challenging, to say the least. I try to give them my full attention first and by the time they are off to bed I am as well. This week, however, the girls helped me make some extracts and fueled my passion! For those apothecary lovers and DIY lovers here is a sleep aid extract recipe. I used the percolation method, but you may choose which way you prefer! You can even pick these herbs up at a local co-op and make some tea to help you sleep!

I decided to use California Poppy, Hops, Passionflower, and Valerian as my main ingredients split into equal grams of 6. Next, I used Lemon Balm, Skullcap, and Motherwort all at 2 g.sweet-dreams

Studies have shown California poppy helps strengthen the nervous system before bedtime, and the combination of Passionflower, Valerian, California poppy and Hops promote REM and sound sleep.
My husband and I recently put in a reverse osmosis filter that can even filter out estrogen in our water so I use that and some local 150 proof alcohol!

I handed out 6 1 oz droppers to the family for Christmas and so far the results have been great! 2-3 droppers 30 minutes before bedtime and 2-3 right before bedtime! It’s best to alternate using this extract and melatonin for those with insomnia!

If you don’t have time to make any you can always check out my Etsy shop and support small business!Aspens Healing Arts Sweet Dreams Etsy

Thank Mother Nature for her amazing healing herbs! Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

