Natural Cleaning Formulas For The House

Between friends, family, and amazing people I have gathered together natural cleaning formulas over the last 5 years that I trust and that actually work. My best friend Jessica Raye in Utah introduced me to the all purpose house cleaner, and toilet bowl cleaner. My other best friend Fallon introduced me to the effective mold deterrent formula from her use of it in Hawaii. My husband had already toned in his formula of laundry soap, laundry stain remover, dishwasher detergent, and the spider/ mosquito repellent formula. The book “the naturally clean home”by Karyn Siegel-Maier has 150 herbal formulas that are amazing as well! I used her formula for children’s laundry soap, scouring powder, and dish soap in this blog. Some of the formulas ask for essential oils, you can use your own ground up dried herbs or use your choice of essential oil. With massage, apothecary, natural healing and cleaning I prefer to use doterra oils.

Laundry Stain Remover: 2 Tbsp cream of tartar, 2 drops peppermint, eucalyptus, or lemon essential oil. 

Laundry Soap:2 c. washing soda, 2 c. borax, 2 c. finely grated laundry soap bar, 2 Tbsp ground up lavender. 

Children’s Laundry Soap: 2 drops essential oil, 2 Tbsp liquid castile soap, 1/4 c. washing soda, 1 c. baking soda, 1/4 c. borax, 1/4 c. white vinegar. 

Dish Soap: I buy Dr. Bronners Castile soap and dilute it with water 1:5 ratio. 

Dishwasher Powder: 2 c. washing soda, 2 c. borax, 5 Tbs citrus acid powder (you can find at homebrew shops) or 5 Tbs lime away, 20 drops orange or citrus essential oil.

Scouring Powder: 1 c. baking soda, 2 Tsp cream of tartar, 1/8 c. borax, 1/4 c. grated lemon or orange peel. 

All Purpose House Cleaner: 1:1 ration white vinegar and water with 10-20 drops of your essential oil choosing. I prefer to use clove (anitbacterial and antiviral) and lavender (antibacterial, antibiotic, anti-fungal, antiviral) in spray bottle. 

Mold Deterrent: 1 1/4 c. white vinegar, 3/4 c. water, 6 drops cinnamon essential oil, 1 Tbsp tea tree oil.

Toilet Bowl Cleaner: 1/2 c. white vinegar, 1/2 c. baking soda, tea tree oil. 

Spider / Mosquito Repellent for indoors: I recently had someone tell me spiders hate oranges so I started spraying orange essential oil mixed in water (dependent on how strong you want the smell) and spray it in the corner of your house once or twice a day, I noticed a huge impact in our house and now is the time to break it out again with fall here! They also hate the mint family. For mosquito house spray I use citronella with lemon balm mixed in water to spray around the house. 

Here are some of the main products I use

 

 

20161014_11000720161014_11002920161014_11005920161014_11011120161014_11012420161014_110043

 

 

Leave a Reply

