My First Hot Flash and Menopause Balancer Extract

IMG_0848

This was my first percolation method and I definitely need more practice with this one. The whole process was exhilarating for me and to my pleasure my wonderful husband helped me during the whole process! The Herbal Apothecary Book by JJ Pursell has been wonderful and created an apothecary monster inside me! Let’s just say my amazon cart is full of apothecary books, Ayurveda books, and traditional herbalism!

For the last year I have been reading books on traditional herbalism, re-reading all my anatomy, physiology, pathology, and Ayurveda (recently with that one) to see the larger picture on how the body works and how to create balance through food and herbal extracts. Two years ago I went to school in Utah for a year studying massage therapy, during this time I spent the entire year learning anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology more than any other class. My school taught me its more important to truly know the body, how it works, and how to create balance vs cover up symptoms with most of our pharmaceuticals today. I have learned a lot on wet, dry, cold, hot herbs that go with ones constitution (which I can help you figure out in an upcoming post). All these things helped me create my recipes for these extracts/ salves, and now I am testing them to see how well they work with family and friends 🙂
Since my mother came to help me for the last 10 days (thank goodness she did! I am lucky I had my momma bear come help me during my ongoing healing process), I made sure she left with Hot Flash relief extract and Menopause balancer extract.

day 1 figuring numbers, turning herbs into powder, and soaking herbs for 24 hours in a mixture of alcohol and water. Alcohol is used in extracts because it can take the herbs and dissolve them through tissues quickly and efficiently, effecting the whole body fast.

*Hot Flash Remedy

Black Cohosh, Gotu Kola, Sage, Red Clover, Motherwort, Distilled Water, Alcohol

*Menopause Balancer

Dong Quai Root, Wild Yam Root, Licorice Root, Hops, Valerian Root, Kava Kava, Distilled Water, Alcohol

IMG_0793-1IMG_0831

day 2 starting small amount and letting rest of herbs soak in the glass bottle.

day 3 actual percolation process

IMG_0852IMG_0850IMG_0851IMG_0856IMG_0977

 

Leave a Reply

