Soothing Labor Salve and Tea

Three days ago I went into the doctor and they said I am in early stages of labor. My doctor said I am 3cm dilated and 50% effaced, my baby’s head is “all the way down and can’t go any farther” . She told us we could deliver any day and we are at 38 weeks so we weren’t expecting my body to be ready yet. On the other side who actually ever knows when the baby will choose to come, I feel I am a sitting duck waiting around for its choice to enter the world. So we went home and started to put together a hospital bag, essential oils, acupressure points chart for my husband to use on me, all my crystals and stones, clothes for the family, all the necessary goods, some candles ect. I realized I wanted to have some of my own healing goods. I first made a labor extract using a percolation method knowing it will take 2-3 days to make ( when its finished I will have a post on that as well) , then I made my salve and tea so they are ready to go as well. Here is my ingredients and why I used them. 

 

Soothing Labor Salve

BASE:

organic local beeswax

organic avocado oil

HERBS:

organic skullcap 2g

organic chamomile 2g

organic catnip 2g

organic sage 1g

organic lavender  1g

I used my mortar and pestle to crush up the herbs and put them in a crockpot on the lowest heating and added the avocado oil so that all the herbs were under the oil. I stirred the mixture once an hour and let them slowly cook for 4-5 hours. After words I added the beeswax, I had 1 cup herbal oil and added .08 oz of beeswax, cover with cloth and let stand over night.

Skullcap and catnip help relieve pain, and calm the muscles. Chamomile, lavender, and sage relieve tension in the muscles and body.  

 

Calming Labor Tea

For the tea I used Motherwort which relieves insomnia and helps reduce labor pains, valerian root and hops which acts as a sleep aid,  and raspberry leaf which prepares the uterine muscles for labor.  

Although I have not had any contractions as of yet, I am just in my early stage of labor currently, I had some on a restless night and it helped me sleep through the entire night! 

IMG_0814-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

