A DIY moisturizer that helps my adult acne

****I currently am moving and am unable to add the pictures of before and after acne, and the process of making this moisturizer. When we get settled in our trailer coming soon I shall update this post! Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day! Please leave feedback and see if this works for you, it can be made in 1 hour ūüôā ¬†*****

 

I have had terrible acne since I turned 15, I have tried over the counter and prescription medicine. Some of them worked for a short stint, only problem is I would have side affects that were never mentioned to me by the doctor such as hives, mood swings, loss of appetite, and itching. The more I researched womens’ make up, lotions, face wash I realized there is really no requirements for companies to adhere by. Why does each face moisturizer have over 15 different ingredients? I wanted to search and find what helped heal my skin and start making my own. Another reason, cost. I don’t like spending $20 on face wash, $20 on face moisturizer every month. Last year I spent my time reading books on herbs, ayurvedic, and natural healing. This is what I have found:

 

Ghee: Fatt Acids that help keep skin moisturized.

Lemongrass Oil: anti-microbial and anti-bacterial herb.This means it will help limit bacterial or microbial growth on the skin. It can help ward off skin infections as well as lessen skin issues caused by bacterial infections, such as folliculitis and cellulitis. Lemongrass is also fungicidal, which means it helps cure fungus infections on the skin. The herb also acts as an astringent, which constricts the skin. This helps to minimize pores, limit the secretions of oil and provide a temporary skin-firming treatment

Rosehip Oil: Has essential fatty acids to keep skin hydrated, vitamin E, vitamin C and B-carotene, a form of vitamin A. Several people believe it has helped lessen breakouts and clear up some scars, I have not found direct studies showing if it does or does not work.

Aloe Vera: Various studies have been conducted to examine the benefits of the aloe vera plant and it was found out that aloe vera does in fact have several properties that are effective in treating a variety of skin conditions, from flaky or dry skin. Aloe Vera helps with sunburn through its powerful healing activity at the epithelial level of the skin. It acts as a protective layer on the skin and helps replenish its moisture. Because of its nutritional qualities and antioxidant properties, the skin heals quicker. Aloe vera gel contains two hormones: Auxin and Gibberellins. These two hormones provide wound healing and anti-inflammatory properties that reduce skin inflammation. Giberellin in aloe vera acts as a growth hormone stimulating the growth of new cells. It allows the skin to heal quickly and naturally with minimal scarring. Aloe is soothing and can reduce skin inflammations, blistering and itchiness, while helping the skin to heal more rapidly.

Jojoba Oil: Works in several ways to counteract acne formation. First, it acts as a deep cleanser. Being a liquid, it can penetrate deep into the hair follicle; it can dissolve the sebum deposits and help dislodge the comedone, thus clearing out the blockage. Jojoba oil has antibacterial properties that help control bacterial growth in the hair follicle. It acts as an anti-inflammatory agent, soothing the irritated skin. When used regularly, Jojoba oil can control acne. The Vitamins A and E in the oil also may have a role in this. Jojoba oil can very well be a safer, all-American alternative to the Australian Tea Tree oil which is known to have some toxic effects at higher concentrations. Jojoba oil acts as moisturizer, relieving itching and dryness. It also forms a protective layer over the skin, forming a barrier to external irritants, which can be an advantage in the case of eczema. The skin inflammation is reduced by the anti-inflammatory property of the oil.

 Vitamin E oil (30,000 IU +, and under 8 fl oz): Helps with dry skin and keeping the skin hydrated.

Coconut Oil

 

I tried to buy all these organic to support companies that I believe in, I did use my own aloe vera plant as well. As for the Ghee I made my ghee from a local butter company.

I make my Ghee first then add all the other ingredients and it usually makes about 1.5 quarts. I use it as my face and body moisturizer. It has helped control my oily skin, I have not had any acne, and with being pregnant I have not been itchy or had any stretch marks with it. So far I am in love with this mixture. I am going to keep learning and changing my formula, so if you have any feedback please let me know I would love to hear it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

